top of page
  • fizrabibi

Things that make Ramadan

Updated: May 27, 2022

*Spoiler* does contain food


Hey Page Turners,

The end of Ramadan and what a month it has been. So much has happened, so quickly and we are quickly entering a new Islamic month. I definitely want to savour these last few days by making continuous dua’s and ibadah- May Allah accept them- please keep me and the Ummah in your dua’s. I just wanted to do a quick post on the things that make Ramadan as you all know I am not the best photographer so have stolen some pics from the family group chat (because come iftar I don’t have my phone to take a picture and when I remember I need to take a picture the food is already demolished- the dilemmas right?!)



My first pic is of course the Qur’an. The month of the Qur’an- the month in which it was revealed. This is a picture of one of my favourite surahs, and it’s a time when I feel most connected with the Qur’an.























This is a picture of my prayer mat. Like with the Qur’an it’s a time where I feel the most connected in my prayers and I try to read on time, with understanding why I am praying, what am I saying whilst I am praying and of course taking the time out to make Dua.





















A Ramadan calendar- my Dad got this from the local Mosque- the highlighted countdown is done by my sister (she is a bit behind) but every Ramadan we stick a calendar on the fridge, it is a tradition we had since we were younger, and you can get prayer timings on apps or the internet but this is taking it back old-school and it’s nice to just have a visual reminder.












It is not Ramadan without Yaqeen Institute’s, Ramadan series on YouTube and Podcast- educational and really is beneficial, highly researched and with infographics and different resources it is invaluable. Links are down below:


And now time for the food pics.


Mango juice- is so refreshing during Suhoor.



A Samosa chaat with spring rolls- this is what Iftar made by my sister to give to friends and neighbours.



Dates- dates make Ramadan, you close and open your fast with them and with the many varieties it is definitely a treat to have.

Fruit-opening iftar, having fruit is a must, especially the likes of watermelon and those watery types of fresh fruit. Iftar is also a time to sit at the table and reflect (which on a normal day you just sit, eat and go and complete other activities) before breaking the fast it is a time to cram in extra Dua’s and is a time of gratitude that you have food after fasting where some people who are starved of food don’t know when there next meal is. It truly ground you.

Water- another must whilst opening and closing the fast, also making dua, thinking of those who don’t have food and water this month really brings these issues to the forefront of your mind.




Fried food- kebabs, samosa, spring rolls, curries and roti, in a South Asian household not having/making these is a crime. One year we went without because health-conscious but also to reinforce Ramadan is not about food.


snacks- after you open your iftar, snacking is just a given, however, you don’t get to snack much because you are full from the meal so it’s the thought of having them in the house that counts.

















A fruit chaat- my sister made- all the elders love it.

















Sliders/burgers and orange drink- my sister wanted an American diner (ish) theme.




My sister hosted an iftar party at her house we had steak burgers, kebabs, pakoras, fries, and pizza swirls. Such a lovely time.




This cheesecake’s my sister made- lotus biscoff cheesecakes a big hit with the family.




It is not Ramadan without #cakesfromSyria such an amazing initiative of buying fudge cake and the money goes to Syria for those in need (100% donation policy) there also is the same idea with a tin of dates that the money you paid for it goes to Palestine. Perfect to gift, or eat yourself, I particularly like buying them and giving them to others and seeing them really enjoy and love it (I mean who doesn’t like to be gifted food, especially cake, especially chocolate cake). This year I shared out the cakes with neighbours and family. Whilst gifting friends tines of dates. Also, it is so yummy. (The picture of the cake with tea is from my cousin, she sent me a message to say thanks for the cake).






My sister made a dessert box this year to give to neighbours was a big hit. Included heart cakes, lotus cheesecake, and some chocolates (from the Heroes tin). Also gifted them samosas (chaat) and spring rolls.



Thank you for visiting my page- and reading my post.

With Love and Dua’s.

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.




18 views2 comments

2 commentaires


huzma2698
huzma2698
01 mai 2022

Yo, your sister’s Lotus Cheesecakes looks delicious ma shaa Allaah! I also made lotus no-bake cheesecake a week ago and it was yum 😋

J'aime
fizrabibi
01 mai 2022
En réponse à

Thank you it was really tasty alhamdullilah! Aw that's good to hear Ma'sha'Allah

J'aime
bottom of page