top of page
  • fizrabibi

Ramadan Reflection 2024/Series 3 + Ramadan wrap-up/ food pics


Salam Page Turners,


My final post of Ramadan ends with my annual reflection and food pics. 


This Ramadan was a total whirlwind that just came and went faster than I would have liked. I think I will always remember this Ramadan for being my most authentic. In that, I threw myself into finding ways to close myself off to the world and just connecting with God, and his words, and praying and making lots and lots of Dua. I hate the dip after Ramadan but it is to be expected I just wish I could get over it quickly rather than later. 


This Ramadan I felt was also somber because of what is happening around the world from Palestine to Sudan to the Uyghurs to all the injustice that is happening across the world. This Ramadan just made me realise how blessed I am to experience and witness Ramadan but also to be reflective of all that I have been blessed with. One thing I have taken away from this Ramadan is how quickly time goes and how we wish we ‘could have done this more’ and it is a reflection of how quickly life is going. I have also learnt how important prayer, dua and reading and understanding the Quran are to me. If you're reading this let me know how your Ramadan went, your reflections and takeaways and your highs and lows of the month.


Food pics:


I love sharing food pic because it makes me more grateful for what we had but also because I like to look back at the memories and makes me drawl whenever I look back on it. I didn’t take a pic of every single thing but I did make an effort to take pics just so I can upload them on here.




On the first day of Ramadan, I made pakoras mine always for some reason don’t form they get stuck together and just stodgy and not nice. However, the blessings of the first day of Ramadan turned out crispy and nice. Didn’t last long because the next time I made it the above happened. I think Pakora are also one of my fave fried foods during Ramadan and I honestly don’t eat it much outside of Ramadan but there is something about having it in Ramadan with green chutney that hits different.















Fruit is always a staple on the dining table during Ramadan, alongside dates and water not only is it the Sunnah way but after fasting all them hours you don’t want the first thing you eat to be fried food. So this is a little of what we had- Banana, apple, pear, kiwis, melon, watermelon, plumbs, oranges.




Somasos and spring rolls are another staple to have during Ramadan

Roast potatoes my sister has perfected the recipe and she makes amazing roast potatoes which are perfect for sides.




Somasa chaat- I made this chaat which is just a combination of chickpeas, potatoes, and spices topped with papri and samosas to accompany it perfect to eat before you go and pray.






Fake away burger-steak and fish with homemade chips- I can’t have takeaway during Ramadan but a fake away now you are talking. Amazing and simple food that my sister made that I DEVOURED.





I also DEVOURED my sister’s Lasagna and again she has perfected the recipe because she makes the best keema (minced meat) lasagna/ garlic bread with it, I literally could have had the whole tray to myself.



Wings with a homemade marination made by my sister.



Pasta veg (kidney beans, peppers) just threw something together because wanted a change for dinner.

Spring rolls pakoras- these were from an event that I went to where they were raising money for donations towards Palestine.



Pitta pizza and burgers are another fake-away when you can’t be bothered to make anything from scratch and tastes amazing.









Sister made somasos from scratch.




Treated to a classic baklawa selection from a neighbour (had lots of other iftari’s- people who gave food but forgot to take a picture).





Made Roast chicken picture of marination- forgot to take a pic of them done but were very nice.

Made chapli kebabs- made me lamb mince rest of family liked them but I didn’t

I also made my butter chicken but didn’t take a pic not as nice as I usually make it but I made the marination quite late which in turn made it late and wasn’t cooked to my standards.




School cake- I brought this cake as donations go towards Palestine one of my favourite cakes I didn’t buy the Chocolate cake (donations go to Syria) I usually buy but instead my sister brought it and gifted me some.




My sister also made yummy chicken pastries.




This pic somehow ended up in my Ramadan file but why not add it here (not to myself maybe make a post of how I celebrate Eid) this was rice my mom made on Eid day that we gifted to the neighbours.




If you have got this far and are not in a food coma I want to thank you and would love to see any pics you have if you took any, or even just comment on what you eat during Ramadan, what was your favourite?


I hope you enjoyed reading and thank you if you have got this far. Although wasn't many posts of the series I want to know how your Ramadan went, and what goals you intend to carry into Shawwal and beyond. What do you want to see in next year’s Diaries (Insha'Allah) because it will be back with a bang.


May the light of Ramadan continue to shine in our homes all year long. Ameen.


Subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates. Links are below. I am also leaving a link to educate yourselves on Palestine and keep up to date with what is happening. 


Link to donation-


Tools for Palestine- https://toolsforpalestine.com/


Link to the newsletter/Subscribe to the blog -https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page