top of page
  • fizrabibi

The books I read in February 2023

Hey Page Turners,


Welcome to this month’s wrap up!

This month I read 18 books and being a mood reader the books I picked up were really from what I felt like reading rather than reading from my tbr list. I started of with Sophie Kinsella’s Party Crasher, and because I am a massive fan of Kinsella I really thought I would have enjoyed it but I found it to predictable, some unlikeable and annoying characters and really the plot did nothing for me. I gave it a rounded down 3 stars.










I then read Open Water by Caleb Azumah Nelson- a debut novel, I really liked the story and of course the writing but I just didn’t love the book as much as I wanted to. My full review can be found here-https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5324716386


I then picked up All My Love by Miranda Dickinson- just think of The Flatshare but in an office setting, I did enjoy reading the book but again didn’t love it as much as I wanted to.


The Dance Tree- Kiran Milwood Hargrave, I really loved this book. A historical fiction book that centres around The Dance Plague and the writing, the characters the author’s note and the themes were amazing. One I would recommend, read my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5314476243


Burn by Patrick Ness- again an author who’s work I absoloutley adore however for me I just really couldn’t get into this. Maybe one for the re-read.


Manifesto by Bernardine Evaristo- check out my post and review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5330076481


Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas- I not a big fan of reading plays, I prefer watching them and then reading them but I loved reading this because the writing was exceptional so can’t wait to actually see this live or try and find the original BBC version of it.


The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, a novel I fell in love with all over again on my re-read of the novel, one of the best pieces of fiction I have read. The themes, the criticism of society the description of the roaring twenties, just utter perfection. My full review can be found here-https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5339181323


I was transported back to Elfhame with the help of Holly Black’s latest installment The Stolen Heir. Written in Wren’s p.o.v this was amazing (I mean as if I expected anything less) can’t wait for the second book and find out what happens next. My full review and analysis on how I found the first book can be found here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4763167588


My meh reads of the month- The Boardwalk Bookshop- which wasn’t bad but just so predictable and The House Across the Lake could have been executed better, the ending was ridiculous and the whole thing was just a mess.


The Hunger Games trilogy- I am so glad I didn’t have to wait for the books to be published because I don’t know how I would have survived. I devoured each and every book five stars for each book because they were just so good. My full post and reviews can be found here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/i-read-the-hunger-games-trilogy-prequel-and-now-i-am-obsessed


The Maid by Nita Prose- Another book which I had such high expectations for but let me down. A whodunit in a great setting in a hotel but I just couldn’t connect to the book or the m/c like I preferred her grandmother who is dead, over her.


The Complete Cosmicomics by Italo Calvino- a author who’s works I have longed to read. This took me an age to complete just because of how intricate the writing is. It reads like fables and tells the story of the history of the universe. One of the genres I read the least is sci-fi because generally I don’t enjoy the books. However the writing, the imagery, the stories in this book are so good, so vivid and I just loved it. I can’t wait to read more by this author.


The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes- the prequel to The Hunger Games, review can be found here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/i-read-the-hunger-games-trilogy-prequel-and-now-i-am-obsessed


Celestial Bodies- a coming of age story that accounts of a family’s loss and loves with the backdrop of Oman a society that is redefining itself after the colonial era. A 5 star read- link- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4470802426


This year I am trying to limit how many favourites I have so I am only going to limit it to two per month. This month it has to go to The Hunger Games trilogy and The Stolen Heir.


What books did you pick up this month and any favourites? Let me know in the comments below.


Want to read my January wrap up click this link- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/the-books-i-read-in-january-2023


Happy reading.

With Love and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page