top of page
  • fizrabibi

My Ramadan recommendations

Updated: Apr 13, 2023

Hi Page Turners,

How is your Ramadan going? I hope this Ramadan is going how you want it to and you are taking full advantage of asking for dua’s and seeking His mercy, asking for His forgiveness and thanking Him for all your blessings and allowing us to fast, pray and witness another Ramadan. May Allah accept our dua’s and ibadah.


Last year I wrote a post recommending books that I would read during Ramadan, I mostly recommended non-fiction and I wanted to do a follow-up post to recommend more books with an emphasis on fiction books that empower Muslim characters and include diversity. If you want to have a look at last year’s post the link is here- (https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/my-ramadan-reading-recommendations) let me know if you pick up any of these reads and if you enjoy. Or if you have any recommendations you wish to add to the list. Just a note this is not an exhaustive list I am only listing what I have read (on my Goodreads shelf).























Home Fires- Kamila Shamsie


Internment/ Love Hate and other Filters/ Mad Bad and Dangerous to Know/ Hollow fires by Samira Ahmed



Khaled Hosseini- A Thousand Splendid Suns/And The Mountains Echoed-


I Am Malala


Sofia Khan is Not Obliged series-Aiysha Malik

This Green And Pleasant Land/

The Secret lives of the Amir Sisters- Nadiya Hussain


An Unnecessary Women- Rabih Alameddine


The Cry of the Dove-Fadia Faqir


Against the Loveless World- Susan Abulhawa


My Sister the Serial Killer- Oyinkan Oraithwaite


Love From A to Z- S.K.Ali/Saints and Misfits


The Family Tree Sarish Hussain


Minaret- Leila Aboulela


The Secret Sky- Atia Abwabi


The Bad Muslim Discount- Syed.M.Masood


The love and lies of Rukhsana Ali- Sabina Ali Khan


The Beauty of Your Face- Sahar Mustafah


Songbirds/Beekeeper of Aleepo- Christy Lefteri https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4656521614



No true believers- Rabiya York Lambard


Beneath my mothers feet- Amjad Donnell


The Wrath and the Dawn duology-Renne Ahdieh


We Are Displaced- Malala Yousafzai


Brick Lane- Monica Ali












Omar Khayyam- The Rubaiyat/Rumi the Masnavi


Click on the links to see the reviews or click the link and then the book title to read a description of what the book is about. If you have read any of these books let me know how you found them. Or if you have picked up a book from the list during Ramadan let me know if picking it up in the month of Ramadan adds something a little extra. I hope you have enjoyed my compiled list and are inspired to pick up one or more books from the list.


Happy reading and happy Ramadan.


With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page