top of page
  • fizrabibi

My Ramadan reading recommendations

Updated: May 27, 2022

The first ten days have passed us, and we are now on to our next ten days, may Allah SWT forgive our sins and accept our Ibadah. Last year I read some Islamic books during the month of Ramadan, and I thought I will do a post on sharing and recommending some of what I read- both fiction and non-fiction- but also some of my favourites.


Non-fiction:

My first recommendation is of course the Holy Qur’an. Without the Qur’an, it isn’t Ramadan. I read the Arabic version of the Qur’an throughout the year, but in the month of Ramadan I read it every day and I read as much as I can (full post on this to come). It is the month of the Qur’an because it was in this month that the Qur’an was revealed, I try to recite as much as I can and also try to learn more surahs. This takes me on to my second recommendation.




The Qur’an in English translation.

Reading the Qur’an in Arabic is all good and well… but if you don’t understand what you are reading… then really what is the point. This easy-to-read translation allows you to read both Arabic and English translations side by side and it really did give me a deeper insight and meaning into what I am reading. Now when I am reading it in Arabic, I identify words and actually know what it means. It gives you more of a connection and understanding, and I think it is so important to educate ourselves and others about what we are reading, the meaning behind it and educating others. It’s important to know what you are reading you learn so much from a single ayah and it is such a blessing that we have translations so we can always be educating ourselves. (Note do be sure which translations you read, look into the authenticity of it etc.)



When The Moon Split by Safiur Rahman Mubarakpuri.

Seerah (literature) of the Prophet Muhammed (PBUH) his biography following his life. Such a powerful, insightful, heart-wrenching read. So much love for this book and allows a better understanding into who our Prophet (PBUH) was his trials and tribulations. The perfect book to pick up in Ramadan gives you a deeper understanding and love for Islam.






Qasida al-Burda by Muhammad b. Said al-Busiri.

Beautifully written Arabic poetry- something I have been meaning to read and Ramadan allowed me to pick it up.








Secrets of Divine Love: A Spiritual Journey into the Heart of Islam by A. Helwa

Confession I started this last Ramadan and actually finished in February this year. Yeah…um so I have a story to tell with this, but I am going to do a full post of (not my story- well maybe my story) my review for this book… because it deserves a dedicated post to it because if you were to pick up a book this Ramadan. PICK THIS UP. Oh my gosh, this easily is my favourite book, transformative, profound, uplifting, enlightening, enchanting, nourishing, spiritual. Every positive word to describe this book. Because wow every single word touched my heart, broke it into tiny pieces, then healed it. Thoroughly researched with analysis into ayah’s of the Qur’an and everything written is sourced from the Qur’an and ahdeeth’s- authentic. THE WRITING is soooo good, honestly the best book on Islam I have read. With a focus on the five pillars of Islam and other subjects (Ramadan: the Holy Month of Fasting- explore the spiritual stages of fasting from the fast of your limbs, to the fast of your negative thoughts, and finally the heart-centred fast.) Full review to come.


Reclaim Your Heart by Yasmin Mogahed.

A book that I actually finished in Ramadan. Another favourite so much love for this book. Yasmin herself is such an amazing women Allah huma barik, her lectures and daily talks are itself so transformative so when I found out she wrote a book (her other books are on my TBR) I *had* to read it and I am so glad I did because it is just the best book. Easy to read, not heavy, but it is deep, she talks about personal experiences which make the book relatable, again a book that is researched so well and a book that is really transformative and definitely a book I will be re-visiting many times. Allowed me to connect with Islam and myself in a way I haven’t before which I am so grateful for and in many ways has changed me. A book that would make a great gift. I loved it so much.

‘He has sent this month of the Qur’an so that we might elevate us and bring us from our isolation to His nearness. He has given this blessed month to fill our emptiness, cure our loneliness, and end our soul’s poverty. He has sent us the dawn that we might find from darkness- light’.

‘Don’t make fasting just huger and thirst: while fasting understand the whole picture. Remember that fasting is not just about staying away from food. It is striving to become a better person’.


Fiction-

Once upon an Eid by S.K Ali

A collection by multiple writers about their experiences of Eid/Ramadan, would have loved to have something like this when I was younger, great representation and insight for non-Muslims and Muslims alike into how everyone celebrates differently and what it means to them. Also look at that cover







The Eid Gift: An Adam and Zayneb Story by S.K. Ali

Loved this! Builds upon the first book by S.K Ali- Love from A to Z (one of my favourite books) such a good fictional representation of a Muslim couple during the month of Ramadan. Light-hearted, cute and just such a good escapism, highly recommend it.





Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

An insight into an American/Muslim teenagers Ramadan, a fun light-hearted a cutesy couple and a perfect read if you want a fiction book.









I hope you enjoyed this post! If you have any recommendations or books that I should add to my tbr do let me know by writing a comment below or if you agree/disagree with the books I have picked out. Thank you for visiting my page, stick around for upcoming posts.

Keep me in your dua’s.


With Salaam’s and Dua’s

Fiz@ Every Page She Turns.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page