top of page
  • fizrabibi

Update #9

Hi Page Turners,


October to me marks that it is officially autumn.

First I want to start talking about Red Rose which was something I watched on BBC I Player and I was absolutely hooked on it. It explored the relationship between teens and social media but also the darker things like mental health and exploiting vulnerable people. It kind of reminded me of a darker version of One of Us is Lying because in Red Rose the premise is their phones are taken over by an app which threatens the person to do certain things or face dangerous consequences if they do not fulfil their demands. I loved the characters and the diversity of the cast but I also loved the last few episodes as it all unraveled. It was something of classic horror which made me have goosebumps and did freak me out but after it ended I was over it however with that ending is it suggesting season 2- it reminded me of how Squid Game ended. Such a must watch I can't recommend it enough I really enjoyed it.


October 7th was also the when the world saw the atrocities of the Israel/Palestine war. Although not many people know the history of Palestine they are quick to defend Israel's crimes against Palestine. What Hamas did was not right, but who can agree with what Israel is carrying out. Palestine has suffered a lot but these unnecessary attacks anger me because all they want is peace all they want is to live without worrying whether strikes will hit them or whether their family members will be next. I wrote a post on my Substack on this issue which you can read here- https://everypagesheturns.substack.com/p/issue-33 and other posts detailing on what it means to me. The current debate on whether the pro-Palestine march should go ahead on armistice day will isn't it a little ironic as James O'Brien says 'Why can't you call for an armistice on Armistice Day?'





I hope you all had a great month in October and if you want to get weekly updates about what I get up to read and other news than you can subscribe to my newsletter link below and my monthly reading wrap up is also posted link here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/the-books-i-read-in-october-2023


Comment below of your highs and lows of the month and what are your goals and looking forward to for the next month.


Thank you for reading and see you for the next update, in the meantime subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates and to by blog so you can be notified every time I post so you can make sure never to miss a post. Comment below on your highs and lows of the month and what you are looking forward to in November. I am also putting a link so you can donate to help the people in Palestine every donation is the matter between life and death so please donate as much as you can. Thank you.



Link to newsletter (top link) and other socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page