top of page
  • fizrabibi

The Books I Read in October 2023

Hi Page Turners,


Below is what I read in October. Autumn is officially here and whilst I do love cozying up to books especially romance and crime/thriller books my books in October were a mix between non-fiction and literary fiction reads. I was reading my tbr carried over from September and I found an inspirational memoir and learnt a lot about relationships (even though I am not in one). I also read a classic that did not go well and finished the month with reading a book that has become one of my favourites. I read a total of seven books in October and below is a little summary of the book and a link of my full review on Goodreads if you wish to read.




Gone with the Wind- Margaret Mitchell- I picked up a classic for my first read of the month. I am a big fan of classic literature even though I don’t read them often and I thought going into this one I would love it. I have heard of the adaptation and the premise of this books seemed amazing however the book was too problematic for me and honesty I gave up half way through I did manage to force myself to finish it.


Show Your Work- Austin Kleon- My first non fiction read of the month all about how put yourself out there and it is especially timely with my blog and wanting to take it further not as life changing or inspirational as it is hyped to be but nevertheless an informational read.


No One Prayed Over Their Graves- Khaled Khalifa- This was such a heartbreaking and timely look into how the devastation of war and loss impacts two people. It was such a harrowing and tender read that left my heartbroken and left me feeling helpless especially with the things happening in Israel and Palestine. Read my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5879698768


How To Be an Anti-Racist- Ibram X. Kendi- Another non-fiction read highlighting in a world that racism occurs how one can strive to be anti-racist. An eye opening account of person experiences of racism and ways to become anti-racist a book everyone should read. My full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3849216399


Attached- Dr. Amir Levine and Rachel Heller- Non-fiction explaining the attachment theory and how the world fit into one/three category’s of anxious, secure or attached. With case studies and statistics and overall message of how to have a successful relationship. My full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5894965338


Zarifa A Woman’s Battle in a Man’s World- Zarifa Ghafari- This memoir was probably my favourite read of the month because it was such an inspirational, moving account of a women’s struggle under the different regimes growing up in Afghanistan. It was also the first book I read that detailed the devastation impact of America’s withdrawal from Afghanistan and how also Zarifa survived multiple attacks. A must read book my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5915158880


The Queen’s Gambit- Walter Tevis- This was also one of my favourite books of the month. Of course I saw this everywhere with the adaptation acquired by Netflix is so popular but thankfully I didn’t cave and I was able to read the book first. And wow what a book such a thought provoking and authentic portrayal about the cost of genius about sexism and so much more. It made me want to be a chess player. Read my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5927736543


So there you have it my October wrap up. I hope you had an amazing reading month in October and be sure to comment below on your highs and lows of the month and whether you have read any of the above and if you agree/disagree with my review and rating.


Thank you so much for reading this post. I love sharing what I have read and it is even better when they become must reads so please do pick them up or consider putting them on your tbr and when you get a chance read them and let me know if you agree if they are as good as I am saying it is. If you want weekly reading updates subscribe to my newsletter equally you can follow/friend me on Goodreads and get instant updates on what I read.


Links to my socials and newsletter down below. Thank you for reading.



With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page