top of page
  • fizrabibi

Update #11

Hi Page Turners,


December, the last month of the year. A time for reflection and renewal but also a scary time because it is the final month in the year which is a scary indicator of how quick time is going. December really was a bunch of getting things together before the new year. Applying to new jobs (in the hope I get it in the new year) to looking at myself at my faith (writing down goals in order to connect and understand my religion better) and my goals of the year and whether or not I have achieved them.


Highs and lows and of course re-visiting the vision board and updating it and putting up new visions of the year. December is also a time to cram in the last minute books and setting up a new TBR for 2024. I love the new year in anticipation of the books I am going to read and any new surprises through favourites or unexpected books I am going to read.


2024 is also the year I am going to eat healthy and look after my body. I am sick of eating junk and not caring for something so essential. So I have done my research through foods new recipes and I just need to make a timetable for exercise because in order to be productive and fulfil these goals you have got to start somewhere other than saying I want to be healthy. I really hope next year when I read this post that I have stuck to a goal of working out and eating healthier but also just being in a better place mentally (which not to myself means praying and meditating and eating healthier).


This is my last ‘update’ of the year so I hope you have enjoyed these updates and if you want to re-visit any updates from the other months the links will be at the bottom. I will also post the link to my newsletter which started due to these updates so you could get weekly updates and I would appreciate it if you could leave a comment or email me your feedback on whether you liked these updates and what you want more/less of in the new year. I will be merging both my book reviews (wrap up of the month) and updates of the month in to one post which will be called ‘RECAP’ but more on that in the new year.


I can’t wrap up without mentioning the last thing I watched in the month. I stumbled across a series called Vigil on BBC I Player and I honestly can’t remember the last time I binged something because I was so hooked on it on it that I watched both series in under a week. They had a real great cast but the storylines are so gripping and thought provoking that they send you in a rabbit hole researching all these things. I thought series 2 will not be able to live up series 1 however I was wrong and now I just hope they do a series three because it is amazing.





I also watched Scandal: a phone hacking trial on the I Player which I spoke about in my newsletter which due to the recent court cases saw Prince Harry win his cases against MGN and other papers he was suing. The documentary was really interesting and shocking just how deep it runs and how much they paid and illegally stole and hacked innocent people just to get information. It was also heartbreaking seeing the impact it has on the victims and their families and friends. More justice needs to be done but I would also like to see another documentary on the journalists and those who carried out these crimes.





Finally I can’t end this post without mentioning what happened on October the 7th. Although the war intensified between Israel and Gaza this has been happening for years and now the world is witness to Israel’s war crimes. The amount of people that have passed away just from being caught in the crossfire and due to Israel’s intense ground offensive it has left Palestine in destruction. It breaks my heart especially because it leaves me helpless because I can’t do nothing but I am linking a donation link so if you are reading this please if you have money to spare donate to Palestine and help them when they most need it. Please don’t stop praying for them and please keep educating yourself on the history of Palestine and Israel and keep sharing and talking about ending this was for all those caught up in the crossfire.


Check out my final reading wrap-up of the year here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/the-books-i-read-in-december-2023 and let me know you 2024 goals and what you are looking forward in the new year and whether you achieved the goals you set for yourself in 2023 if you achieved them and your highs and lows of the year. Check out the most anticipated post of the year my year in books/wrap-up on my blog.


Thank you for reading I hope you have enjoyed these updates and I hope you will be back here in the new year for the new ‘RECAP’ on the month and other posts I intend to do. In the meantime subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates and to by blog so you can be notified every time I post so you can make sure never to miss a post. Link here- https://everypagesheturns.substack.com/


I am also putting a link so you can donate to help the people in Palestine every donation is the matter between life and death so please donate as much as you can. Thank you.



Link to newsletter (top link) and other socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page