top of page
  • fizrabibi

The Books I Read In December 2023

Hi Page Turners,


December the last month of the year. This indicated yearly wrap-ups and recommendations but it is also a month of reflection and renewal for the new year. It also is exciting because it is a new year for new books, new reads and new reading goals and challenges. Before all of that here is a wrap up of the books I read in December.

In December I read a total of seventeen books which makes it one of my biggest reading months in terms of the amount I read. It was a mix of literary fiction to fantasy to thriller. I think it was also an excuse to cram in as much books as I could to get my reading count up but also to finish the intended TBR before January.  Below is the books I read and a short summary of how I found the book. There is a link to some of the books I read with a longer review of how I found the book and quotes that I highlighted. To get instant updates and weekly updates on the books I read friend me on Goodreads (or follow if you don’t want to friend) and subscribe to the blog and newsletter. The links are below the wrap-up.






Natives Race and Class in the Ruins of Empire by Akala my last book I picked up in November and the first I finished in December. It was a non-fiction detailing class, race and prejudices he and other face just because of race. An interesting and incredibly researched book that challenges what you ‘think’ you already know. Review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6004096167


Us Against You by Fredrik Backman is actually the sequel to the first book and even though you can read it as a stand alone I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to because in the back of my mind I had the ‘I should have read the first book before I picked this up’ saying that his writing is amazing. It is so emotive and simplistic that it really grips you in a chokehold definitely would recommend this but don’t do what I did and actually read the books in order. Review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6013900110


The Hunger Games The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins A re-read well actually I listened to the audiobook. I first gave this a four stars and when I listened to the audiobook and revisited the genius that is Suzanne Collins I gave it five thousand stars. I guess listening to it made the words sink deeper and made it come alive for me. It also made me think and realise that this really isn’t Snow’s story because it is much deeper than that. It is thought-provoking and honestly written so well I can’t get enough of it. With the movie and the fan edits and the interviews honestly one of the best things to come out of this year. Check out my updated review here- or my original review with the trilogy reviewed as well here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6004106703


Those People Next Door by Kia Abdullah a thriller I was really looking forward to especially as the last book I read of hers was still on my mind. I wasn’t disappointed by this read instead I guess I didn’t expect the domesticity to take over the ‘thriller- ness’ of it. Still a book that proves Abdullah is amazing at what she does. It was confrontational, intimate and a nightmare of a book but also a conversation starter and questions everything you think you know. A must read. Review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5298042902


Playing Games by Huma Qureshi a literary fiction and my first book I picked up of Qureshi’s. I really liked this and was possibly the quickest book I read this month. It questions the sensitivity of fictionalising real life and the relationships between siblings and family dynamics. I loved the p.o.v’s of the sisters and how different they are, the ending was bitter sweet and another amazingly written book. Review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6031276302


The Silk Roads A New History of the World by Peter Frankopan I have actually been reading this book for a while reading a chuck each day. My rabbit hole subject would probably be on The Silk Roads and when I saw this book and it was written specifically about The Silk Roads I had to pick this up. It certainly didn’t disappoint. Incredibly detailed on how The Silk Roads shape our world today and I especially loved reading how it shifted from the East to the West. This history that I wasn’t taught at school made me realise how much I missed out and how much they teach you is very biased and one-sided I wished they gave a copy of this to me at school and frankly they need an overdue remodel of the curriculum. My review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5981512343


Romantic Comedy by Curtis Sittenfeld I should have seen this one coming. I didn’t like Rodham by the same author but I thought I give her another chance. Especially with the review and hype it has. I guess her writing is for a different audience because I just cant connect with her writing style or the plot for that matter.


Hello Beautiful by Ann Napolitano a modern take on Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I actually slowed down my reading with this one and took my time with this one. I loved the characters and the plot was heart-breaking but genius because it mirrors Little Women and even though you expect that ending it is still heartbreaking when it happens. It is going to be one of those books that will stay with me and I will reminisce over. Find my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6041696184


Flight by Lynn Steger Strong this was a short book I picked up because I loved the cover and it was fitting because it was set during the week I read this which was 22nd December to Christmas day. It was a book that questioned family dynamics when one member dies. It wasn’t a favourite of mine but I did enjoyed reading it nonetheless.


Magnolia Parks by Jessa Hastings this book was probably one of the disappointments of the year. I thought before reading this would be a mix of Meg Cabott and Sophie Kinsella instead it was trash. A toxic relationship shaped by society and labels I definitely did not enjoy reading it and won’t be carrying one with the series.


Big Magic Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert I actually picked up another Elizabeth Gilbert book because this was recommended to me so I thought if I got through Eat Pray Love I could do anything. It wasn’t necessarily bad it included really good tips and her own experience through finding creativity and the process of it. Not the greatest but not the worst.


Alone With You in the Ether by Olive Blake a romantic fiction book following two individuals who meet either by fate or by accident how does bees and art collide add in unreliable narrators and you have the plot. A book I didn’t love but I didn’t enjoy as much I wanted to.


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass another one of my worst reads and possibly one of the worst books I read of the year. I had this on my TBR for so long so when I got around to pick it up I had really high expectations just because it is so loved and highly praised and on Goodreads the reviews of 4-5* so I went in thinking especially as I love fantasy that this is going to become my favourite book. Instead it was a really bad re-telling of beauty and the beast and I just gave up with trying to enjoy it or making an excuse and saying it will get better because when I finished the book it definitely didn’t get better as I ended up giving it a one star. Another book in which I won’t be continuing the series.


A Winter in New York by Josie Silver I picked up this book when I was distracted so maybe if I had picked this up at a later time I would have enjoyed it. Especially considering I really enjoyed her two other books. I was expecting to love this one however I thought the plot for this book was too predictable so I think this is definitely one for a re-read.


Self Leadership and the One Minute Manager by Kenneth H. Blanchard I listened to this in audiobook format and it was told as a parable. A really clever way to use characters to show the before and after of tools of self leadership can help everyday life. One of my goals for the new year is to listen to more audiobooks but also to listen to audiobooks that help me improve and implement the tools I can use in every day life.


It Starts with Us by Colleen Hoover the second book in the ‘It Ends With Us series, honestly I didn’t enjoy reading because it was way too predictable and I didn’t like the plot line.


It Ends at Midnight by Harriet Tyce my last book of the year and a fitting read as it was written during the week of new years. I love a court room drama and this had it all, it was such a quick read because I didn’t want to put it down. A book when the past meets the present and an unreliable narrator and a death to figure out. I loved this book and would definitely recommend it.


Seventeen books in total of the books I read in the last month of 2023. It was a mix of favourite reads to the worst reads I read in the year. I also it probably was one of my most diverse reads in terms of the genres I read. As always I would love to know what you have read and picked up in December and whether you have had a good reading month and please comment below what you read and whether you would recommend me any. If you have read any of the above let me know what you thought of it and whether you agree or not. I would appreciate if you commented down below or emailed me your feedback whether or not you have been enjoying these monthly wrap-ups and what you want to be seeing more of and less of in the new year. I will also be merging these monthly wrap-ups and updates to one post titled ‘RECAP’ but more of that in the new year.


Thank you so much for reading this post. I love sharing what I have read and it is even better when they become must reads so please do pick them up or consider putting them on your TBR and when you get a chance read them and let me know if you agree with my review or if you disagree. The links I mentioned at the start of the post are linked down below click on there to connect with me on my other socials and to get instant updates.





With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

Recent Posts

See All

Hozzászólások


bottom of page