top of page
  • fizrabibi

The Dead Ex review


‘He cheated. He lied. He died’. What a great catchphrase. I’m joking but Jane Corry does not fail to impress she has quickly become my go-to favourite mystery/crime/thriller author because her novels are so cleverly crafted with such page-turners that you will be reading any opportunity you have you will also be thinking about it regularly too.


I love a good thriller and this is my third of Corry’s books I have picked up and I loved it, devoured it even. I love when thrillers use medical conditions in menacing ways (that sounds so wrong) but its also because you learn and are educated so much about that condition in this book the main character Vicki has epilepsy which causes her to forget stuff for the plot it is great but also it is such a great insight into how people live with it, how hard it is but also the signs people can spot if the person is in an epileptic fit and what to do. I am still not over Louise Jensen’s ‘The Date’ which explores the medical condition of prosopagnosia and so many other books.


I love how this tackles such heavy topics as well and I think because Jane herself worked in prison the prison scenes are so vivid and authentic that it makes the book that much better. It is psychological, it is deep and twisted and I was completely enthralled from the first page. This was a real page-turner. It has two p.o.v’s one from Vicki who is now an aromatherapist and Scarlet whose story we follow from childhood to the present day. Both of their stories were gripping and when Helen came into the mix it just kept me on my toes hooked until the very end, I loved every minute of this fast pace book. If your looking for a page-turner look no further.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page