top of page
  • fizrabibi

Men Without Women by Haruki Murakami

Men Without Women by Haruki Murakami translated by Phillip Gabriel and Ted Goossen.



This collection of seven short stories allows an intimate look and reflection of men who find themselves alone. This is the second book I have read of Murakami’s and I am a fan. He takes the ordinary and allows us to see what we would normally overlook. Filled with emotion and mundane details it was a great collection. My favourites in the collection were ‘Drive My Car’- which has been turned into a short film, and ‘Yesterday’. I really liked ‘Men Without Women’ as a closure of the book. It is a sad and melancholic collection and I would recommend it if you like short stories set in Japan.


“Loneliness is brought over from France, the pain of the wound from the Middle East. For Men Without Women, the world is a vast, poignant mix, very much the far side of the moon.”



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page