top of page
  • fizrabibi

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood





When I finished this book, it was kind of a bittersweet feeling. Over the course of the three novels, you are familiar with this world and the quirky characters but also you can’t help but think about what’s next, these questions are quite overwhelming.


I think I am used to Atwood’s writing by now after reading quite a lot written by her, but she never fails to move me and scare me with her writing. Her speculative fictions novel are all, but fiction and they feel all too real. A man-made plague sweeps the earth- sound all too familiar. Honestly, I think I disliked this book the most out of the trilogy but I think it could partly be because I read the other two last year so I should have really re-read them but also because I just felt a bit too crazy.


You have to read the book to understand what I am saying but I was really let down with Jimmy literally being in a coma for the majority of the book and I guess I wanted to see more of him as the first book all started with him. The ending was probably the strongest out of all the three but then I guess because it fully ended is why it was the strongest. I loved the observations and commentary- Atwood is another one of the authors where I would read anything that she has written- I loved the build-up of the novels and the endless optimism it has taught me a lot and a successful novel- in my opinion- is one that teaches you and this certainly does.


It is clever and imaginative, and I remember a zoom I had with Atwood where she talks about Oryx and Crake and reading this just made the novels come alive for me. She makes you think and question with every paragraph and I absolutely devoured it, I will for sure be revisiting this and re-reading time and time again. If you want a speculative fiction recommendation this trilogy you won’t want to miss. I loved it. I can’t wait until I re-read this again.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page