top of page
  • fizrabibi

I read Anatomy of a Scandal and Conversations with Friends then watched their adaptations.


Anatomy of a Scandal was an amazing book. I really love books that indirectly criticise society and I felt that this did exactly that. It gave an insight into British politics and how ‘rules apply to everyone else but not them’ it explores elitism and entitlement, they abuse the power, the status, the privilege they have. I loved this book even more because it was such a page-turner, you want to know what happens in the trial-love courtroom drama- and with the back stories, flashbacks and twists and turns you just couldn’t put this book down. Okay so let me give you an overview of the book.


A popular, handsome, successful public figure, James Whitehouse is accused of a crime that he denies his loving childhood sweetheart Sophie stands by his side and believes James is innocent. QC Kate Woodcroft is the defence in this high-profile trial, Kate is an experienced prosecutor who has a reputation for winning cases and defending the victims of said crime. As the trial proceeds secrets that were once buried rise, memories come back to haunt, and the truth… well that will have to be found, how will this trial end? Will Sophie remain confident in her husband, will James who has his reputation to protect, his job, career, wife and support, backing and friendship of the Prime Minister be found guilty or not guilty, and will Kate demand the justice she so desperately requires.


I hope I didn’t give too much away there. This book was so clever, and you really do go between he is definitely guilty… to okay maybe he might be telling the truth. The story has different timelines and different times in the character's life, the majority of it takes place at Oxford University, and in the present day. It made me really uncomfortable to read about James’ time in Oxford the club he was a part of the ‘Libertines’ and the entitlement and privilege that came with it. Their education, the connections they made, and their wealth all were factors in the futures that were already made for these boys. Fun fact the Libertines echoes the Bullingdon club which included the likes of Boris Johnson and David Cameron. The parties provided the boys to switch off with the help of an excessive amount of alcohol, and drugs and of course, treat the waiting staff specific the women waiting for staff… well I guess you can figure it out yourself.


I think rape is such a sensitive topic and this book made me realise that it does have more than one victim. Sophie’s breakdown is really heart-breaking and the fact that their children and their childhood will be tainted by this. For Sophie did she not always suspect this when the story unravels I really like her p.o.v and she has to confront all that she knows about him, she loses her trust and faith in him and realises that he used the truth to contort it to fit his own story and use it to his own benefit. The ending was really good and so satisfying. The twists and turns for me in this book were great, is Kate really just a QC why is this trial so personal to her why is she convinced he is guilty. Why is James and Sophie’s time in Oxford a factor in this trial and Holly, what happened to Sophie’s tutorial partner, could her husband really be guilty of what he is accused of, and could he really have ruined a women’s life? I definitely want to read more by this author, it was riveting and thought-provoking. I loved the insight into UK parliamentary and the ‘office culture’ it actually scares me because of the current exposure-obvs different topics- but it is timely and relevant a disturbing and provocative political thriller that I highlight and recommend.



Conversations with Friends is the second novel I have read of Sally Rooney’s I did really enjoy this novel compared to Normal People but maybe that is because I am used to her writing style now or maybe this had more of a plot line. Either way, I enjoyed it a lot more. This novel is about two college students who go from best friends- to girlfriends- to best friends again and it is about an intimate look into their life and the unexpected connection they make with a married couple. I love Sally Rooney for the fact that she can take the ordinary and transform it so magically. There is no one who can match Rooney’s writing style and for me, that is what draws you in. I also think because Rooney herself is from Dublin and because she sets the narrative there it makes it such an authentic portrayal.


Frances is an awkward self-conscious 21-year-old- really like how different Bobbi is compared to Francis and their dynamic is interesting and is a nice contrast- the story is really based around conversations. Communication how you portray yourself, and how much you share, or withhold, is about what others think of you. This is all explored in a much more literary way in the novel, Frances is bi-sexual compared to Bobbi who is openly gay, they perform at an open mic where Frances writes the material and Bobbi-and Frances- perform. This is how they meet Melissa who is a writer and her husband Nick- an actor. It is an interesting dynamic because of their ages but somehow it kind of works during the course of the novel these couples will go through a lot both together and separately and Frances and Nick share an intimate connection which will change the dynamics of this group.


I think why I loved this a lot is because Rooney packed so much into it, she explores relationships, identity and belonging but she also explores monogamy and the morality that comes with it. And, I have to mention- everyone knows I love a book that explores mental/health issues, and Rooney explores Endometriosis in the novel. The pain that Frances goes through is palpable and when her mom and the doctors suspect a miscarriage it really gripped me, it educated me on how much it affects and pains a person and how serious this illness is but also that there is no cure for it. I think it will definitely open up conversations and allow people an insight into what it is like to live with it, this is a real chronic illness that needs to be discussed more.


The biggest question for me that this novel raised is what is love? Is it something that can be defined, is it a marketing tool, is love moral, is love ideal? This novel really made me think and question things and I find myself coming back to passages and picking things out that I would have glanced over before. I loved how Rooney explored the characters as all flawed not just the one person but everyone, because it makes the novel more authentic, I also loved the communication through emails. In life I always find myself thinking oh I wished I had said that or if only I could have explained myself better, and this is what the characters go through but instead of thinking they are more practical than me and pen an email instead. Which I definitely find myself to, I love writing an email because sometimes a text can’t carry what an email can. This is another form of communication, and it allows for understanding, for more thought put into it, for having maybe a clear mind when going back to a conversation. Also loved the philosophical conversations/debates that Bobbi has, and that Nick and Frances have too so thought-provoking.


Her grasp on human nature is like no other her grasp on relationships the characters are all so authentic and relatable. Overall I loved Conversations with Friends, if your waiting to pick up a Sally Rooney novel, here is an excuse.


‘You suffer, she said. Everybody suffers.’


I watched the Netflix adaptation of Anatomy and the BBC/Hulu adaptation of Conversations with Friends. I loved the Netflix adaptation they followed the book really closely; I felt the casting was done to a high standard for Kate, Sophie especially Allison and her house and kids, also I LOVED JAMES AND SOPHIE’S HOUSE I want a smaller version of that just saying. It made the book come alive I loved how they did the flashbacks, the ending of the episodes where James and Sophie get pulled back reinforces that life is literally like that. I think the major thing they changed was for most of the trial in the book Sophie wasn’t there, but in the adaptation she was. I loved Kate’s character and her student again something that was added and the relationship with Angela wasn’t really explored in the book. I loved James’s character- as in who played him- like his demeanour and his denial that he raped those girls he really did believe his own lies. Like Sophie said his luck has run out. Also, the flashback to Oxford what happened when Top and the drugs and Holly Berry, I just loved it so much. With Conversations with Friends, I preferred the book compared to the adaptation. Like Anatomy, it stayed pretty close to the book but I just felt like where I absolutely loved Normal People’s adaptation- compared to the book- I felt the book in this case felt more raw and authentic compared to the adaptation. I think who played Mellissa was a good character and I guess actually I didn’t like Joe Alwyn as Nick. Both adaptations did stay pretty close to the book though.


Thank you for reading my reviews, comment below if you have watched/read and agree or disagree with my comments.


With love and duas,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page