top of page
  • fizrabibi

How to get free books and my love letter to libraries. Long Read

I will start by saying because of climate change we have to be accountable for how we buy books and that we should be buying sustainably. To get cheap books I would recommend charity shops (in the UK books are from 30p the highest probably £2 and that is a bargain.) I have found so many gems in charity shops and the condition of the books is also amazing. Of course, not every book will be in pristine condition but I would still wholeheartedly recommend this. My next go-to would be online second-hand shops such as World of Books/ AbeBooks and others. Second-hand books I have used both of these websites and haven’t been let down of course because they are second-hand you wouldn’t expect them to be perfect but they still maintain such a good condition that why wouldn’t you get them from here? If you want to go to a bookshop why not support independent bookshop the biggest online bookshop is aptly called Bookshop.org where you can select which bookshop you wish to buy from and their statement says '‍Every purchase on the site financially supports independent bookstores. Our platform gives independent bookstores tools to compete online and financial support to help them maintain their presence in local communities'.








If you want to go to an in-person bookshop my favourites are Blackwell’s (London and online- especially if you’re a student who has a uni reading list or for academic purposes as well as general literature/fiction etc this is my go-to). I also use The Works which is like a stationary/arts and crafts/book shop they have amazing deals and do book bundles and book box sets which is like a bookworm's dream. Finally, Waterstones. Admittedly I don’t use Waterstones often I mostly use them to buy signed editions but as they can be expensive I don’t often shop there but an amazing place to window shop and of course add to the expanding TBR. These shops do use reward schemes so if you’re a regular purchaser you can get money off etc.
























The rise of bookfluencing on Instagram/TikTok and YouTube has led to the rise of consumption think fast fashion and influencers who get PR boxes. (I have never experienced this but can only assume how exciting and what a dream it would be to get free stuff- because who wouldn’t) but I always wonder what happens with the books after. Advanced reader copies, book of the month boxes or any other PR book mail should be dealt with sustainably. Instead of throwing them away (which I hope no one does anyway) there are sustainable ways to get rid of them. This also applied to anyone having a clear out on their own shelves influencer or not. Passing them down to someone you know would read it is the best way to get use out of them. Giving them to schools (obviously depending on the audience of the book) libraries or charity shops. Using Ziffit or Music Magpie you can earn money by selling your books to sustainable sources and companies that re-use them and sell them on.




At the start of this post, I mentioned ‘free books’ and you are probably reading this post (let’s be honest) wondering how to get your hand on free books. You probably already know the answer. It’s libraries! Of course! Libraries are the heart of society and they don’t get the recognition that they deserve. Of all of the books that I read at least 80% of them come from the library. I think borrowing a book from the library is the best way to know if it is worth buying. You don’t know if you are going to love the book based on the blurb or reviews so instead of parting with your money and taking a gamble on it wouldn’t it make sense to borrow it from the library instead? One of the perks of libraries as well as the range of titles and genres they have. In the library I use you are allowed to borrow up to 30 books which is so much but what I love about it is its extensive shelves that allow me to diversify my reading. If it wasn’t for the library I would have never known my guilty pleasures which are fantasy and thriller if it wasn’t for the library I wouldn’t have necessarily picked up or been willing to buy self-help or read biographies and non-fiction books. Libraries have fuelled my passion for educating myself and wanting to consume literature to learn more, read more to broaden my horizons be more empathetic and better my understanding. Every time I step foot into a library I have a Matilda moment because it never fails to amaze me how much power is held in the written word. I get the urge to buy books and browse for new ones but libraries have kept up with the times and they also have an online catalogue (but similar to online shopping you just don’t get the same experience as you do browsing in real life) and who doesn’t feel the urge to go the library and come back with a new haul. I also feel that buying books almost becomes a platonic experience. With my own experience I don’t pick up the books I brought with my own money as much as I do with the books I brought from the library. I don’t know whether that is due to knowing I have to give the book back within a certain period (and don’t worry if you’re a slow reader you can renew the book if you haven’t finished it within the allotted time) or just because at the back of my mind I know it is always going to be on my shelf so it is just a case of picking it up and finding the time to read. I see this a lot online with book influencers talking about their to-be-read piles or hauls from recent book shopping they did. But then somehow you never hear them talk about the books again. Are they reading books or just marketizing a recent trend.





My final remarks about libraries come back to my earlier comment about how they are the heart of society. With recent cuts to library closures to dwindling funding and tech replacing libraries. I (perhaps a bit ambitious) would love it if one person read this post joined a library and got others to do the same. Society cannot function without libraries and safe community spaces. We saw the impact of what happened when centres like Sure Start shut down and we will be doing a massive disservice if we let the same thing happen to our libraries. Of course, we are not in that situation thankfully but you can’t be complacent to think things are going to remain like this. Not with AI progressing at a rapid pace. So why are libraries the heart of society? What makes them so special?

First I think it is important to look at statistics such as ‘million children in the UK do not own a book. Or because of the pandemic global literacy levels are at an all-time low. Children who received free school meals were twice as likely to not own a book of their own at home compared to their peers. Factors such as household budgets due to the cost of living have meant that families are unable to support reading at home due to costs. The most important thing to take from these statistics is that children are missing out. The future generation is missing fundemantal opportunities that will have a massive impact on them in the future. I remember someone once said that not being able to read makes your world smaller. That stayed with me. So where does the library come in?




Libraries are more than books and borrowing and reading. Libraries have more to offer than I think a lot of people know. Due to the cost of living (and even before that), libraries have put schemes into place which offer free heated spaces that include free hot drinks. They also have designated days in which people who are struggling to pay their energy bills can come in and confidentialy speak to someone. They have homework clubs for children who may not have internet or access to a printer. They do adult workshops such as colouring for mental health and of course, they have book clubs. Libraries are not just a building it is a community and it amazes me that these services are for free. For children who don’t own a book at home and their families they are supported by the library and they get so much more from it. The child that goes to the library allows their mind to be broadened by the experience of other children and course from the vastness of all the books. Early years is also where foundational reading skills are developed and they must be exposed to these recourses. (If you are reading this and know someone who would benefit from a library please tell them about all the services they offer). Just imagine what it would do to that child’s self-esteem knowing he can take a book home, make another friend at the library or be encouraged with something without any restrictions imposed on them. Imagine how much we as a society can bridge the gaps between these statistics and work towards something achievable.


It concerns me that people don’t know about the services that libraries provide. From entertainment such as recitals, musicians, and theatre to providing clinics for newborn babies to ancestry clubs. In the winter it becomes a safe place away from winter's harsh treatment. Hot drinks blankets and items such as mini foodbanks. It is a place of belonging, making new friends or just finding yourself and stumbling upon new books. And the best thing is it is all free. Libraries have made me who I am today and continue to be such a staple in my life so it is important to me that people know its true worth and truly appreciate it. It is a vital piece of society and without the heart, a human can’t live likewise without libraries society can’t function. Not only do they generate billions of money in yearly value they also provide a safe space providing a place of belonging.


If you have read this post I thank you for taking the time out to do so but I don’t want you to be a passive reader. Ask yourself when you last used the library and when you last bought a book that has just sat on your shelf unread. For a New Year’s resolution why don’t you join a library I promise you once you join a library you are a member for life and get all the free perks that I have mentioned above. If you have some spare time consider volunteering for the library or please share and repost this so people know who you would think would benefit from the library. Before buying a book why don’t you browse the library to see if they have a copy? Also instead of Kindle why don’t you use Libby or Borrowbox services the same as Kindle but guess what IT IS FREE.








Further reading and if you are interested in volounteering (check your local library) check these charities.

National Literary Trust- https://literacytrust.org.uk/


Further reading:



Once again thank you for reading please consider sharing and reposting so that it reaches those who need it.


Check out my monthly wrap of what I have read- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/what-i-read-in-november-2023 and subscribe to my weekly newsletter and this blog so you never miss a post.


With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page