top of page
  • fizrabibi

Hana Khan Carries on by Uzma Jalaludin


It says this book is recommended for fans of ‘You’ve Got Mail’ the rom-com ft Meg Ryan- which I haven’t watched but I certainly will after this!


I loved this book so much. This book was amazing to read, there are not enough books where I can say I see myself reflected, but I definitely can with this book and this is why representation matters. Hana Khan’s family run a halal restaurant however not for much longer because it is run down they are lacking business and to top all of that they have competitors with a new restaurant opening that are also doing halal food in a predominately white area. I found it refreshing and because I haven’t watched ‘You’ve Got Mail’ it was unique.


I love Jalaludin’s characters. They really hold their own and the stories and their personalities make the book that makes you keep reading. Honestly, the only criticism is that I found it a bit slow to start with but after I think when Hana’s aunty comes from (Pakistan or India was it I can’t remember) it is really fast-paced.


The Muslim representation was patchy also, so I found rather than the Muslim rep it was really just a South Asian rep. I think the Islamophobia trope is also overused. Don’t get me wrong I think raising awareness of Islamophobia is absolutely vital however in this plot I don’t think it was needed.


The things I loved the most is the characters- which I think I already said- and the storylines. I loved Hana’s podcast and if it was real I would be a loyal listener I loved the banter and flirty-ness she had with the listener and their exchange and the reveal of who he was, was sadly predictable. I found myself reflected in Hana and I loved that but also the podcast I have always wanted to make a podcast and has this encouraged me to start my own? Maybe.


I loved Kawkab Khala she is the desi aunty everyone needs and her storyline and how Hana’s relationship with her but also how she used it for her podcast was so powerful. Also the plot twist with Afsana Aunty who saw that coming. Aydin and Hana, I don’t ship them but I don’t hate them, honestly, I wanted more of Hana with her family than Aydin- but saying that really interested in his back story and his father etc. I loved the character of Rashid and his banter and just him being so lovable. It is thought-provoking raising awareness of racism and hate crimes. The food was of course major theme in the novel and I was here for it. Amazing. This was such a sweet, escapist rom-com where I felt validated, seen, heard and represented it was amazing and you wouldn’t want to miss out, so pick this up the next chance you get!


Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page