top of page
  • fizrabibi

Frankisstein: A Love story by Jeanette Winterson



First of all, I do have to point out that I may be biased because I absolutely adore Jeanette Winterson, not only that but I could read ANYTHING she writes so you obviously know that I have her five stars for this book but not without good reason. I had been wanting to read this since it first came out but never got the chance so I thought it would be a perfect opportunity after I read Frankenstein to pick up this beauty!


Frankisstein is a retelling of Frankenstein by Mary Shelley- one of my favourite classics- and in this book, Winterson uses two p.o.v’s one from the nineteenth century focusing on how the story of Frankenstein came about (loved reading this) and then the other p.o.v set in the future set in Brexit Britain where Winterson explores topics such as artificial intelligence, robots, politics and so much more.


In true Winterson style, this breathtaking book was written so directly and lyrically that you could not put it down. I loved it, it was philosophical, it was smart but at the heart of it was a love story and this is why Winterson writes so well because you have all these heavy topics, yet the underlying theme is something I don’t think any of us will be able to fully grasp or understand. Love. It makes you question so many things morality, immortality the evolution of AI and the pros, cons and dangers of it. Expectations of women, how women are treated by men, gender roles and fluidity are so much stuff it is honestly mind-blowing I definitely think I will have to re-read this to fully grasp what this book is saying. I love how Winterson still incorporates the characters from the original especially Ry Shelley and Ron Lord (Mary Shelley and Lord Byron) genius!


This novel explores, life and death it explores travels through the ages it is feminist and the ideas and concepts Winterson explores I still can’t get over it. I highlighted nearly every other passage and it’s one of those that you want to read again and again. It is unique and really is a book that makes you think and stays with you long after you have read it. If you love the speculative fiction genre this one is for you. And as if you needed any more convincing it was longlisted for the Booker Prize.


There are two many quotes to note down because I literally loved every single line so you HAVE to read it to find out exactly how good it is.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page