top of page
  • fizrabibi

An overdue update.


Hey Page Turners, these past four months have been crazy because it has been non-stop. With working, starting uni again, wedding prep, books and Netflix and of course family I haven’t had a chance to post here. This year my resolution was to post once a month and I am really proud that I at least did it up until October I think. I think I would have been really gutted had I not been busy and not posted but the fact that I was I have made peace with not posting and not feeling guilty about it. So let’s start from the beginning.


I have loved working these past few months, I met some incredible, inspiring people and I have learnt so much from them because I won’t be working in Jan I will miss them all but I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to of course work and earn money but to make memories and learn so much. I also am going to write a blog post about my work but more about that in another post. I am glad in a way (everything happens for a reason) that I am not working come Jan so I can focus on uni but also branch out to other career options, do work experience, research and see what I am destined to do for at least long term.


With uni, I feel somewhat like I am in a slump. It has been four years, and it has not been easy, of course, it is the last year so it is going to be the hardest and I am actually enjoying the content I just stress so much about the actual essay assignments. It is really annoying when I get them back and read over the comments and say to myself that I know I should have done that but I didn’t. I think going into the new year I will try not to stress so much but to take my time with it, and break it down into smaller chunks. In the new year for one lit module, we move on to more of the modern texts so I have that to look forward to even though I am not counting I will also have 5 months to go so note to self savour every moment because before you know it, it will be over.


Books- Do I want to say I am in a slump, no but I was in a phase where I just couldn’t get into the books I was reading but held up because these past two weeks I have been reading amazing books, Carrie Soto I am looking at you. All of my bookish updates will be in my year-in-review post yes it is that time of the year again.


Netflix/TV- So since September I didn’t watch any Netflix because of how busy I was but I think it was just before October half term somebody recommended The Marked Heart on Netflix, she was describing it and I was like I just have to watch it. And it was so good. Organised crime, how far would you go for the person you love, grief, loss, love, power, it was amazing, powerful, and heartbreaking, it is Spanish but I listened to it in English and I would highly recommend it. After that I was sucked back into the Netflix world and guess what was released One of us is Lying Season 2, so I binged naturally, doesn’t follow the book but still has hints of it, I loved it the characters are developed more and I don’t know if I ship Nate and Bronwyn as much as I did in the books but nonetheless, it was set up for season 3 so will I still be watching, of course. I watched the document Blackpink- Light up the Sky- I am not a stan, but I love watching documentaries and this came up as a recommendation because I watched Taylor Swift’s Miss Americana which I am very much a stan- anyway I loved the devotion they put into it, the background of how they were trained with YG, their natural bond with each other, music, performing is literally their life and they all achieved their dreams by working their asses of so hats of to them. I am still watching and haven’t binged it because I love savouring it The Handmaid’s Tale on Chanel 4- Sunday @9pm I am on do not disturb mode. Compelling and scary and bleak and hopeful and June's wtf are you doing moments it just gets crazier, more ‘I can’t take much more of this and ‘June just go into Gilead grab Hannah and Nick and run away and live a happy life- sorry Luke) but then you have Serena who is still milking Gilead for everything she has the funeral gave me chills, and Aunt Lydia and Janine’s relationship and throw Esther in the mix…anyway, binge watch the whole series because it is my whole personality…that was a joke. I binged in a day the whole season 5 of The Crown (I was ill) in my opinion Claire Foy was the best Queen with Olivia coming in a close second, I don’t know why but I felt series 5 wasn’t the best season I watched of The Crown even though I thought it would be because I know much of it. I did enjoy it, especially the last few episodes the episode with Mohamed Al-Fayed even though he annoyed me but his devotion to meeting the royal family was inspirational because he made it happen. I loved his relationship with the butler because you can tell he developed a relationship with him and his relationship with Diana was touching. I was shocked by a lot of things because although I was not born then I still knew a lot of what happened. But I was really proud of Diana getting her story out via Andrew/James I don’t know how much was tampered with and re-written but I got the revised edition so I definitely am going to read the autobio. I was shocked about how Bashir obtained the interview when I read it on the news but actually watching it I don’t know I am still processing it. Diana is still one of my inspirations and role models who I look up to so I think this series is really sensitive because of the foreboding sense of what is to come. I watched The Mess she leaves behind- skipped through a lot of it and thought I would love it because it involved an English teacher but it wasn’t great. I have of course been watching a lot of Christmas movies, world cup Argentina won which I was so glad about because of Messi (wanted England to win of course, but had Morocco in my heart but they made it so far really proud of them) I watched Downton Abbey the movie- I mean you know how I feel about that already. And a couple of weeks back binged watched A Series of Unfortunate Events- Season 1 because my niece was hyping it up and I have obviously read the books so had to watch and it was really good! I have on my currently watching- the docuseries by Meghan and Harry, The Swimmers (word of mouth) season 2/3 of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Wednesday, and I haven’t been through IPlayer yet but definitely going to watch stuff from there (looking at you Between the Covers).


Upcoming weeks- my sisters' wedding, any Asian can relate to the multiple events going on, reading the last books of the year, cramming them all in (I can’t believe I am saying that) watching all of the above, and reading for assignments due start of Jan and Feb. Organising Zoom meetings, and attending them and of course doing loads of end of the year, new year posts and wishes and new starts and this year is going to be my year etc. Anyway, ending this here because why is it so easy to write nearly 1400 words in like one hour for an essay I take a year to do it? All of which I am excited about.

Happy holidays, and a half-term break to all. Nolite te bastardes carborundorum (if you know you know!) Comment below on what you have all been up to.


With love and duas,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page