top of page
  • fizrabibi

Mid-year book tag 2024

Hi Page Turners,


Welcome to the mid-year book tag! A question and answer type of format based on the books I have read on the first half of the year. I loved answering these and made me reflect and realise how much amazing books I had the privilege of reading and of course it got me excited of finding more in this next half of the year. I hope you enjoy reading and let me know your own answers to the questions below in the comments section.



Best book you’ve read so far in 2024

One Small Voice by Santanu Bhattacharya

A book that floored me because of how much it packs. One of the few of my favourites so far in 2024 that I continuously randomly remember. Read my review- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6310755804


Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2024

The Prisoner’s Throne by Holly Black

The only sequel I have read so far during this year. Perhaps not the best sequel I have ever read but did enjoy another installment from the land of fae from Holly Black. Read my review- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5435568082


New release you haven’t read but want to

Tomi Adeyemi and Tahereh Mafi

Both fantasy and both apart of series. There are a lot of books I want to read but the ones I probably want to read the most are guilty pleasures and pure escapism hence why I have picked these.


Biggest disappointment

Caraval by Stephanie Gaber

I was actually really looking forward to this but it let me down because it just wasn’t the right pacing and perhaps I read it during a slump so couldn’t get into it as much as I wanted to but it was a let down for me.


Biggest surprise

In Ascension by Martin Macinnes

Not the biggest fan of sci-fi fiction but this really gripped me. I read this at the start of 2024 and I am still thinking about it, I loved the plot and really loved the characters and forever thinking about that ending. Definitely won’t feel let down when you read it. Read my review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6148793262


Favourite new author (debut or new)

R. F. Kuang

Her writing is spellbinding and I am so jealous of how she writes so eloquently and she says a lot in a little. I have to read her fantasy trilogy as they have forever been on my tbr list but her writing is stunning. Read Yellowface review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6343866240


Book that made you cry

The Book of Fire by Christy Lefteri

Definitely a book that made me feel for sure. A book I swear I should have wrote but just such a must read about the damages and effects of climate change and a heart-breaking and touching story about the characters story of survival. Read my review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6481885210


Book that made you happy

Promise Me by Jill Mansell

A chick lit by a trusted author. I haven’t read a chick lit that I enjoyed for a long time, maybe I am turning cynical or maybe I am bored of the same re-used plot and predictable ending however this was a cute story set in a small town with a lot of amazing character and a cracking storyline and ending. Really enjoyed this one.


Most beautiful book that you’ve brought so far-or received.

Babel by R. F. Kuang

I think the cover says it all but also reading the book and knowing how much the building means to the characters and the setting it gives it that added value. Also makes me want to be a part of their crew. Read my review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6197387888


What books do you need to read by end of the year.

All the books that I have brought and on my shelf. In particular, Burning Questions by Margaret Atwood and a lot of thrillers and charity shop finds.


Now it is your turn answer these questions and leave your answers in the comments below. I love reading everyone’s take on this.


I hope you enjoyed reading. Links to my socials including my Goodreads and newsletter is linked below do be sure to subscribe to my blog if you enjoy reading and tell a friend and share it if you do like. In the meantime subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates and to my blog so you can be notified every time I post so you can make sure never to miss a post.


Thank you for reading. 😊

Tools for Palestine- https://toolsforpalestine.com/ 



Link to newsletter (top link) and other socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns


Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page