top of page
  • fizrabibi

2021 Bookish Wrap-up

Updated: Jan 2, 2022

This year I decided to use Goodreads again to not only keep track of the books I am reading but also to try to write more reviews. At the start of the year, I set myself the reading challenge to read 200 books by the end of the year. I can proudly say I have read 209 books. I love looking back at the books I have read during the past year because with every read comes a journey, an adventure, a roller-coaster of emotions and books that will stay with me forever and which will definitely become a re-read. If you want to see my reviews for some books follow the link at the bottom of my page to go to my Goodreads account, or if you want to see my top 5’s go to my Instagram account. (Links are at the bottom of the page).

Take a look at my year in books below :D



I started the year with the Young Adult Fantasy series by the author Tehereh Mafi. It is a dystopian 6-part series which I thoroughly enjoyed. (Young Adult/Young Adult Fantasy is my go-to for escapism). I also read ‘The King of Elfhame’ by one of my favourite ‘YA’ authors Holly Black. It is the back story of Carden as a small boy and her writing is beautiful, touching and her world-building of fantasy land and characters are masterful. (Her trilogy ‘The Folk of Air is a must-read- as are her other works). I am so grateful to my uni reading list that Jane Eyre was one there. I was able to study my favourite ever classic. (a more in-depth review of Jane Eyre to come.) Twelfth Night was the first Comedy I studied of Shakespeare, and I absolutely loved it.



The copyright of The Great Gatsby expired which allowed Michael Farris to write ‘Nick’. The novel explored the backstory of Nick Carraway and as a standalone I really enjoyed it, but as a prequel to The Great Gatsby, I honestly don’t think it does it justice. A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir is a must-read for fantasy lovers (third in the quartet) I love that is written by an American/Pakistani writer and the representation is on point, so gripping, such a page-turner and the world-building is beautiful. (Helene my fave character I love you). Must-reads- Girl Woman Other- join the winner of the booker prize 2019, such an inspiring, empowering novel. Brick Lane- Monica Ali, touching and so powerful, written by a BIPOC author. The Secret Sky- one of my favourites of the year, highlights the plight of Afghanistan and with what happened this year it is a must-read! So poignant.



Atonement- one of my favourite books (especially after watching the adaptation with Keira Knightly and James McAvoy). I think Ian McEwan is just such a brilliant writer I am such a huge fan of his work. S.K. Ali, also one of my favourite writers, growing up I don’t remember reading books that I could fully relate to because of the lack of representation so her books I absolutely devoured and loved. Love from A to Z is one of my favourites by her (set in Doha, a place that is close to my heart). Following on I also loved Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin, the literary references and the drama I loved (also I want someone to quote me, Shakespeare). Must-reads- Yes No Maybe So- Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed, Saints and Misfits- S.K Ali, Dear Martin (such a good and powerful read) Nic Stone. And of course, The Lost Sisters by Holly Black. Everyone hates on Taryn, but this gives a back story and I actually really love her as a character she for sure is underrated.


Sophia Khan is not Obliged- again one of those I will treasure. I love women’s fiction/chick-lit, but the problem was lack of representation. So, when Ayisha Malik publishes the Sophia Khan duology you bet I am going to devour it. So light and fully another one of my escapisms.

Must-reads- The refugees (my first introduction to this author) his writing was so profound and touching I loved it. Minaret, stunning and lyrical one for the re-read shelf. F*ck Love by Taryn Fischer really packs a punch, so moving, trigger warnings but such a good read, I loved it. Collected poems by T.S. Elliot, one of my favourite poetry collections.




My first introduction to Colleen Hoover was with her book slammed. She wrote about slam poetry…not only that but with such an emotional story about grief, loss, and love. I was so glad I decided to read one of her books because I am in absolute love with her writing and savour each and every book of hers. Everyone just go and read a Colleen Hoover book! A Vow so Bold and Deadly is the conclusion to the curse breaker series, this series I have such fond memories (I remember reading the second book in the run-up to my sister’s wedding and I just was broken because the third book hadn’t been published.) Must-reads- Ali Smith’s quartet, Good Girl, Bad Blood (best YA mystery/thriller in my opinion). The Bad Muslim Discount (such a good book) and Clap When you Land (loved her Poet X book better).



Girls of Paper and Fire was my first ever buddy read. I enjoyed the buddy but not the read so much, I don’t think I would carry on with that series. Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal has to be one of my favourite reads of the year. The memoir of Jeanette Winterson is so moving and powerful, her writing moved me to tears, but her strength and power are just so inspiring a book I will come back to time and time again. Talking about inspiring the autobiography of Benazir Bhutto (former prime minister of Pakistan) was so hard to read with all the struggles she went through but it was a book I have been meaning to read since forever and I don’t regret it. A must-read for everyone. Must-reads- In Five Years- Rebecca Serle, such a cute read- perfect for fans of Freaky Friday. Sadie by Courtney Summers/ Broken Things by Lauren Oliver, gripping and heart wrenching. Collected Poems by Sylvia Plath. Love is a Revolution by Renee Watson/Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas (author of The Hate You Give.)



A Midsummer’s Nights Dream-Shakespeare read because it was on my uni reading list, surprised myself with how much I enjoyed it. (The BBC adaptation was good too). Great Expectations was also on my reading list, my first read of this was when I was 16 and I didn’t particularly like it, I don’t think I would have revisited it had it not been on the reading list, and I have to say for my second read I did really appreciate it. The character of Miss Havisham is exceptionally written, and I loved studying it in-depth and got the chance to compare the theme of childhood with the novel Jane Eyre. One of my best essays in my opinion. Must-Reads- Mad Bad and Dangerous to Know- Samira Ahmed (love her work, much preferred Love Hate and Other Filters but this one was good and liked the literary references). It Ends with Us- Colleen Hoover- not my favourite of hers but still a must-read. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur is one of my favourite poetry collection by a modern-day writer. I really disliked The Hating Game by Sally Thorne went in with high expectations because of the hype and was really let down.


These reads were during the month of Ramadan so reading Reclaim your Heart by Yasmin Mogahed was exceptional and so refreshing. I also read the Qur’an with English translation to connect with it better but also have a deeper understanding. When the Moon Split the biography (seerah) of the Prophet (PBUH) was just outstanding and one of my favourite reads of the year made me have a profound love and appreciation for Islam and the Prophet (PBUH). Once Upon an Eid- anthology of authors I loved reading this and recommend everybody to. Must-Reads- Mary Beard- Women and Power, if I didn’t love Mary Beard this just reinforced it. So much respect for her. So empowering and educational. For this day and age, a must-read. Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas and Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.



One of the best buddy reads this is the one I will always remember. Reading Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier was amazing but even better doing it as a buddy read. I devoured it her writing is delicious and the suspense the mystery the ending. One of my best reads of 2021. Talking of mystery Verity by Colleen Hoover is also one of my best reads. This psychological thriller was so good I did an all nightery for it (all though I was so spooked reading this book) Colleen Hoover is at her best and Verity is my top 5 of hers. A must-read. The Grace Year is a dystopia for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale. Very addictive and so haunting.


I discovered a lot of my favourites, All Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover, I cried my eyes out at this. I went in blind, and I am so glad I did because it was just everything. White Teeth by Zadie Smith I have been wanting to read forever and it was everything I could have wanted if not more. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is a must-read so lyrical and the moral of the story is beautiful. Sapiens. The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi was amazing and I can’t wait for book 2. Must-reads- Take it Back-Kia Abdullah, such gripping writing, The Push- Ashley Audrain such an addictive book that is so gripping. A Little Life- trigger warnings and if you want to be deeply hurt by a book this is for you. Lisa Jewell- one of the best thriller/crime/mystery in my opinion.


Hamnet, Hamnet, Hamnet is one of my best books of the year (see a full review with the link below). A must-read. Anxious People by Fredrick Backman was really good, touching and heartfelt that ending broke me. The Madd Adam series by Margaret Atwood like anything Atwood writes is timely, must-read and her writing is so lyrical and haunting. Tweet Cute by Emma Lord…was so cute and a fluffy read if you need something light.







Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone series was really good but because I was so late to the party, I felt I couldn’t really appreciate it, looking forward to reading other stuff by her though. The series on Netflix is stunning. The Runaways by Fatima Bhutto is a must-read and so is Writers and Artists for those interested in knowing the background of famous artists and writers during the 16th-20th century. We were liars went viral from BookTok but sadly I didn’t get the hype I didn’t really enjoy it. No True Believers by a BIPOC author is also a must-read.




Wuthering Heights, I always seem to take ages to get into but when I do, I just race through it. I feel whatever Bronte’s write I will love. My favourite duology of the year has to go to Renee Ahdieh an adaptation of Arabian Nights- One Thousand and One Nights I savoured each and every moment. The Family Tree by Sairish Hussain, I felt she got the representation really accurate and the book was so gut-wrenching I would recommend it to everyone. Must-reads- November 9 Colleen Hoover, The Sun and Her Flowers- Rupi Kaur. My dark and disturbing but must read because they raise so much awareness goes to My Dark Vanessa and After the End/I see you. For a light read my go-to was V.E Schwab although it was very long.



For uni, I got to re-visit Othello, one of my favourite Shakespeare plays. I also read Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy and his writing and imagery is so vivid I enjoyed it. The Road was gut-wrenching and the relationship between father and son is so touching. Must-reads- The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, I first read The Starless Sea by her and was bewitched by her writing and her ability to transport you so vividly to fantasy lands. The Silence of Girls is such a powerful and empowering re-telling of Greek Mythology from a women’s perspective but also a hard read. The Mercies was also a read I really enjoyed too. A re-read of the Ember series by doing a buddy read with my best friend, one of our best ones.



The Wolf Den was a buddy read, but it was similar to paper and fire where the book wasn’t really the best to really enjoy the buddy read experience. I read The Custom of the Country for uni and really enjoyed Wharton’s writing, her satire and her criticism of the elitist society she was a part of. Enjoyed comparing it with Hardy one of my favourite essays. Literary Terms and Literary Theory is essential to any Lit student but in general, it’s just such an insightful educational tool to have. Sophie Kinsella is my go-to however Love your Life wasn’t really up to my usual Kinsella standards. Must read- Atwood, The Girl with the Louding Voice, empowering and powerful. Jill Mansel and Milly Johnson, my go-to for light reads- never fail to deliver.



Read Oroonoko and Candide for uni, liked it but didn’t really enjoy it. A torch was a buddy read another highlight of an amazing read of my favourite series. The Stolen Sisters by Louise Jensen was written so well. Louise Jensen is one of my go-to for crime/thrillers because her writing is amazing. She raises awareness of illnesses, conditions that are rare or less likely to be heard of a must-read for sure. Hans Christian Anderson has been a part of my life since childhood so revisiting his fairy tales (in prep for uni) has been so nostalgic and so magical I loved it. Disappointed with The Kiss Quotient and From Lukov with Love. Loved The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, however, it is overrated, prefer it over Daisy Jones and it was such a delightful read. Reminded me a little of City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert. Must read- Dorothy Koomson- The Friend (fave author ever since I read the Rose Petal Beach).


The God of Small things (Booker prize winner) and Hotel World was both novels I read for uni and they are such good novels that each explore love, loss, grief and the complex factors of society it will be amazing to study further and analyse further when it comes to writing up the essays. The Dead Poets Society was a really good short read which I have been wanting to read for a while. His and Hers was a good but slow read if you're looking for a crime/mystery/thriller book. The Guest List was hyped one of those I went in with high expectations but was let down. The Green Road (booker prize winner) the writing was simple but deep a must-read and so is Yuval Noah Harari. The Nightingale and the Rose by Oscar Wilde was such a sweet and short story but hurt so much, how such few words could have such a big impact. Regretting You by Colleen Hoover, wasn’t my favourite of hers but certainly, the ending was worth it.


And that’s a wrap. The books I read during 2021. I found some favourites in there and some that I will always remember and come back to. I am so grateful and privileged to have read such great books and that I was able to access them because I know that there are people that can’t. In the coming days, I will post my most anticipated and the fiction/non-fiction I am looking forward to for 2022. Interested in looking at reviews for individual books follow the link to my Goodreads account and click on the book title, or if you are interested to see my top 5’s for each genre go to my Instagram account. Thank you for reading lovelies. I wonder what my 2022 reading will look like…want to find out stick around with Every Page She Turns with any of the social media channels and my upcoming posts.

Fiz|فيز’s Year in Books | Goodreads (To see the infographic and the books I am talking about.)


Happy reading (and a happy new year).

Fiz.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page