top of page
  • fizrabibi

Update #7

Hi Page Turners,


August was a month of excitement and dread for me. The summer holidays would soon be over and whilst the children go back to school and people go back to work I am still stuck at home. But you have to find your blessings wherever you can find them. August was the month of road trips and get togethers and also rain a lot of rain. Trying to make the most of summer when it is raining is hard but you just appreciate the sun that much more. I had a better reading month you can find my wrap up here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/the-books-i-read-in-august-2023 and I also got around to watching Mogul Mowgli by Riz Ahmed.


It is about a British Pakistani rapper who believes he is on the cusp of stardom and just before supporting a major tour he goes home. He goes home to catch up with family and prepare only for a debilitating illness to threaten his dreams. I think his messages whilst he is rapping and the flashbacks were really meaningful and hard hitting. It was a different film to the ones I have watched and I am not sure if I am big fan of the visuals but his pain and him trying to break out is felt and it tackles heavy issues like cultural identity and the spoken word poetry and really painful childhood memories it was a really good watch. I would give it a solid four stars.


I also went out with my nieces and nephews, and we had a train trip that resulted in getting lost on the way back. I mean what is a trip without getting lost. Reading Manifest was life changing but it also just informed and strengthened the bond I had with my faith but also the way I manifest and basically live my life. I definitely want to educate myself more on the topic and implement it more into my life. I also had major changes down to the garden (note to myself).


I hope you all had an awesome month in August and if you want to get weekly updates about what I get up to read etc than you can subscribe to my newsletter link below and my monthly reading wrap up is also posted link here- https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/the-books-i-read-in-august-2023

comment below of your highs and lows of the month and what are your goals and looking forward to for the next month.


Thank you for reading and see you for the next update, in the meantime subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates and to by blog so you can be notified every time I post so you can make sure never to miss a post.


Link to newsletter (top link) and other socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page