top of page
  • fizrabibi

The Books I Read in September 2023

Hi Page Turners,


Welcome to September’s wrap up of the books I read this month. It was a real mix this month because there were books I read that are life-changing and absolutely loved and on the other hand there were other books that I ended up skimming and were some of my worst books I have read this year. I read a total of nine books and below is a list of what I read and a quick summary if I liked the book or not and a link of my full review posted on Goodreads.



Know Your Place- Dr Faiza Shaheen is the first book I picked up in September it is the life changing book I mentioned above. It is life changing because it challenged my conceptions I had of social mobility and the class system- systemic bias (whether conscious or unconscious) it was a real eye opener. Full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5812478319


Icebreaker- Hannah Grace was one of my worst books of the month it was a book about sports/romance and I love a good rom/com-romance-women’s fiction book however I was just really bored of reading it, partly because I didn’t enjoy the story line and the characters I didn’t like them…basically I didn’t like a whole lot of it.


Born a Crime- Trevor Noah I read this partly because of listening to his podcast with Dua and his book was funny, heart breaking, and a massive education on apartheid and segregation and how he lived during that time. A must read book and one of the best auto-bio’s I have read he is an amazing storyteller. Review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5828979534


A Death at the Party- Amy Stuart was this amazing whydunit read that unexpectedly grew on me. I loved it because it was super fact paced all the action took place in one day and it was a family domestic thriller type of and it was crazy and unhinged and I loved it.


Vladimir- Julia May Jones- Another skim read I didn’t enjoy this one. It was a short read but I couldn’t get into it, didn’t like the storyline, I appreciate it happens however I felt it could have been written better.


Lessons in Chemistry- Bonnie Garmus- one of my most anticipated- hyped books however possibly one of my worst reads because I didn’t like the main character- her character was just too ‘cold’ for what it was trying to portray. I loved what it tried to achieve but I felt it failed in its execution. I liked the starting of it but about a third into it I gave up with it I skim read the book and by the end of it I was glad to be done with it.


The Great White Bard- Farah Karim- Cooper my first audiobook of the month. It was really interesting to listen to an analysis of race and how Shakespeare can still be relevant and relatable to today’s day. Full review to come.


Killers of the Flower Moon- David Grann non-fiction investigation detailing the deaths of Indian Osage due to oil. It was shocking and eye-opening about how the deaths were covered up and also the extent to how they killed innocent people for their own gains. Read my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5853133017


The Whispering Muse- Laura Purcell the last book of the month a gothic sinister tale with Greek mythology and Victorian times backdrop about an actor and her dresser. I loved the storytelling however I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted too. Read my full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/5864398912


I hope you all had an amazing reading month during September that was all nine books I read. Comment below on all the books you read whether you liked/dislike whether you found some new favourites and if you have read any non-fiction book this month.


Thank you for reading this post I hope you have enjoyed reading what I read last month and if you want weekly reading updates subscribe to my newsletter equally you can follow/friend me on Goodreads and get instant updates on what I read. Links to my socials and newsletter down below. Thank you for reading.


Socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page