top of page
  • fizrabibi

RECAP #1/2

Updated: Apr 19

Hi Page Turners,


Welcome to 2024. It has been a while since I have done a post, and honestly it is because I have been in a bit of a ‘blog slump’ where I just didn’t have the energy and motivation to post. So instead of doing a half-hearted attempt in January (and because I was also putting it of and procrastinating) I decided to merge things together into a combined two monthly wrap up. If you have read my end of year post you will know that the monthly wrap up will not consist of separate posts of ‘updates’ and ‘what I read in…’ instead it will be another merge of both together rebranded called ‘RECAP’. If you are a subscriber of my newsletter (link at the bottom) you will be familiar with this concept as I do weekly RECAP’s, but if you are not here is a little info on all you need to know about RECAP.


RECAP is an acronym to mean different things. For example, the 'R' can stand for reading as well as researching, the 'E' can stand for eating as well as enjoying and so on and so forth. I also like the word 'RECAP' as it fits the blog/newsletters objective. To let 'you' the reader have a recap of what I have read, watched, listened to and other things over the week.

I first came across this concept because Claudia Sulewski uses it and I thought it would fit my content really nicely. Here is a link to her YouTube to check out and support her content.








So now you know what RECAP is and what it stands for, let’s get into it. (Also if you like this concept better than the old version do be sure to comment below).




Reading




These are the books that I read during January and and February. In January I read a total of 19 books. And in February I read a total of 18 books.


Let me know in the comments whether you have read any of the books mentioned and what books you picked up in January and February. I have chosen these books because I would have loved to been recommended them so do be sure to pick them up or place them on your tbr and I hope you will love them just as much as I did. Below are my favourite reads of Jan and Feb that I gave 4/5*



January 2024

Just some thoughts on how I found the books and for reviews just click on the link to my Goodreads link here to profile- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/71950525-fiz-substack-link-in-bio


-A Twisted Love Story- Samantha Downing


A book I carried over into 2024 a thriller about a couple who have a toxic relationship a book you don’t want to put down and I raced through it.


-In Ascension- Martin MacInnes


I don’t read the sci-fi genre as I do other genres and that’s because I find it hard to get into. That can’t be said for In Ascension and Leigh’s story. It was engrossing, something I have never read before and hauntingly realistic. The pacing was the only thing that stopped me from giving it five stars but other than that it was an amazing, edge of your seat read. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6148793262


-She and I- Hannah King


She and I by Hannah King was a book I didn’t have high expectations of but my word was I blown away by it. Two friends go through everything together can they get through murder. It was such a twisted and a gut-wrenching read, the family dynamics, the characters, the murder the detective work and of course that ending. For a debut I was so impressed by how well it was written and how quickly I devoured the book such a must read.


-Decolonising My Body- Afua Hirsch


My first non-fiction of the year and it was so refreshing to read. It is a quest for seeking out her lost ancestral legacies which has been disrupted by colonialism, globalisation, capitalism, totalitarianism and conflict. Whilst deconstructing Western and European ideologies.


-People Who Knew Me- Kim Hooper


I stumbled across this due to the BBC Sounds podcast of the same name which instantly made me go and read the book. Absolutely loved the podcast and because of the high standard the book didn’t deliver as I was expecting still such an amazing book about Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6181369307


-The Killerbody Plan- Fajah Lourens


Another non-fiction read this time in health. One of my goals of the year is to exercise more and be healthier. I wanted to educate myself on the what foods are the healthiest and that we should be eating to the best way to exercise and see results specifically for my body type. Also features at home workouts a definite must read if your new to all this. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6148795111


-Babel- R.F. Kuang


My first five start read of the year rightly goes to R.F. Kuang’s Babel. Is translation an act of violence or necessity. Such amazing discussions in this book, the love and passion for linguistics and languages. The characters the romanticising of Oxford and of course the much needed and thoroughly welcomed representation of colonialism and its effects and… I loved this so much would recommend to everyone. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6197387888


February 2024


-Everyone Here is Lying- Shari Lapena


February brought new books to be read and devoured and I started the month reading another punching book by Shari Lapena, the last time I read one of her books was in 2018 so I didn’t really know what to expect other than I really enjoyed it the last time I read her book. This didn’t disappoint, a really gripping and page turning read children villains make for scary yet thrilling reading. That ending was another ‘did that really happen’. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6222450636


-Five Survive- Holly Jackson


Six people, an RV, an active shooter and only five survive. Darker than I initially thought but really well plotted and another great ending- if a little too predictable. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4897217388


-Signal Fires- Dani Shapiro

A heart-wrenching tale about how stars all connect us Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6240699449


-Everyday Wellness- MaryRuth Ghyiam


12 actionable steps I listened to this as an audiobook and through case studies and her own experience the narrator takes the reader to twelve life-changing steps you can implement into daily routines to live a happier and healthier life. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6240720729


-Drowning- T. J Newman


I honestly didn’t know what to think going into this read, a story about a plan crash can be a flop or it could be a winning read and it was just that. I loved it. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6282489314


-Maybe You Should Talk to Someone: A Therapist, Her Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed- Lori Gottlieb


A heart-warming audiobook on a therapist, her therapist and how she analyses situations that reveals our lives. Read the full review here- https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6273123176





Enjoying


In January I really enjoyed watching a lot of great movies/t.v series. I have actually signed up to Letterboxed which is basically the Goodreads version for movies and films. It is great to track what you have watched and re-watched and just nice to look back on. Letterboxed link- https://letterboxd.com/fizra/


One of my favourites has to go to Sherwood. Pretty late watching but I really enjoy watching/reading something especially when it prompts you to go on a rabbit hole and further research about it. The miners striking and how the police handled it the past and present coming together, how they have been ostracized and the strikers motive. How lives have been destroyed by it and how they live with the trauma so good highly recommend. It was also based on a true story: Yes, in part – Sherwood's writer James Graham was inspired by true events that happened in his own hometown, a small mining village in Nottinghamshire called Annesley Woodhouse. Back in 2004, two grisly murders sparked the biggest manhunt in Nottinghamshire Police history




Content

Content I am enjoying-


Of course I have to start with YouTube and I am currently loving Claudia Sulewski's content the link is above for her channel. She is authentic and I enjoy the content and how good the quality of her content is. I am also loving Nicky and Coco podcast-type deep dive on celebrities rise to fame. I particularly enjoyed this one- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pqhqDH29InM

I am also enjoying Mark Manson's content I still need to read his book- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0TnW9acNxqeojxXDMbohcA

And finally both the WTA/ATP tour's channel and social medias are always entertaining and enjoying. The tour area also making a reality show (because why not)- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0DgmkI2FiE


Essays that I have been enjoying as well are- https://www.nytimes.com/2006/08/20/sports/playmagazine/20federer.html


Comment below on what you have enjoyed reading/watching/following these past two months.


Adjusting To


I am adjusting to life without a student identity. If you have read my previous post you will know that I have found it challenging adjusting to life without a student identity (https://fizwrites.wixsite.com/website/post/post-graduation-blues) but also the routine of researching, writing, deadlines and just the usual busy-ness of a student. It has also been hard trying to find entry-level/graduate jobs in a time of financial crises and dealing with rejection or being ghosted and not really knowing the point of LinkedIn. I am being less harsh on myself now adjusting to the new me if you like. I have been really lazy with applying to jobs and hating tailoring the CV to different jobs but I have to suck it up and treat it like an essay due in. Going into March/April my goal/plan is to apply to 5 or so jobs with a tailored CV and cover letter applying weekly and being more proactive about it. What is something that you are finding hard at the moment and having to adjust and how can you work on it to make it easier/acceptable for you? Let me know in the comments. (Disclaimer I do know how minute this is compared to other things going on in the world).


Parting Ways With

I am parting ways with the old me and bad habits/routines. Before the new year my goal was (like a million of other peoples as well) to eat health and exercise more. But for me it was more than that yes I want to do both to loose weight but for it is about exercising for my mental health and for me to become stronger. Eating healthy because I am sick of eating junk all the time and limiting my life span and over eating when in fact generally and my religion says (It was the practice of the Prophet (ṣ) to eat humbly, in what he ate, how he sat as he ate, and in his general attitude towards eating).


In January I watched countless of videos/read books and researched all the vitamins and health foods/meal plans etc. on how to get healthy. And in February where it is researched people start giving up their resolutions I started mine. And for me it worked. I haven’t completely cut out the junk food, but I have started exercising and enjoying it and seeing the benefits- having more energy- feeling stronger (I don’t know if it is a trick on the brain or I am genuinely feeling stronger).


I am conscious of what I am eating, how I am making sure I am drinking lots of water and I am enjoying how much it gives me a routine. The routine I was craving for post-graduation was this. This routine has also helped with my religion, you see a positive domino effect on all things. I do want to point out that I do have my lows and I am okay with it, I am okay with not completely cutting out stuff from my diet because I am not striving for perfection, I am working towards progress. (I saw this quote from somewhere) and I am okay with the little steps because I know eventually I will get there.


Comment below on things your parting ways with and how you are dealing with it.


That is my first RECAP wrap up complete. I sincerely hope you enjoyed reading and like this concept and I would love to read your comments to any of the above below.


Links to my socials including my Goodreads and newsletter is linked below do be sure to subscribe to my blog if you enjoy reading and tell a friend and share it if you do like. Make sure you are subscribed so you don’t miss the Ramadan posts as I will be posting frequently and if there is one thing I want you to take away from this RECAP is to carry on going. In the meantime subscribe to my newsletter for weekly updates and to my blog so you can be notified every time I post so you can make sure never to miss a post. Link’s are below. Thank you for reading. 😊


Tools for Palestine- https://toolsforpalestine.com/


Link to newsletter (top link) and other socials- https://linktr.ee/EPST


With Love and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page