top of page
  • fizrabibi

My 5-year journal- Year 1 in review.




How am I writing this my first year complete? So I have been updating my journaling on here but I can’t believe I am doing my first-year wrap-up. I have always wanted to keep a journal, I have always kept a diary from when I was younger on and off but have always kept it up, just day what took place, etc. With a journal, I feel it is deeper because it asks you questions in a way you have to reflect, think and actually take time to answer. I don’t know how I came across this but I thought it was perfect because whenever I started a journal myself I couldn’t keep up with it and I got too overwhelmed going down the journal aesthetic YouTube videos, and Pinterest pictures, and then what journal to pick and all the accessories to pick from on Etsy. I brought this from Amazon and thought it was amazing, a journal that I could keep and use for 5 years, but most of all just a prompt a day which I could easily commit to. And here I am a year later. Would I recommend it, absolutely because for beginners like me this is so simple to commit to and a really easy and encouraging way to get into journaling? The prompts all of them I personally wouldn’t have put in had I written them myself but I can do that when I journal myself. My first year reflection, I think it is hard to say because it is my first time doing it, was I successful in keeping up with it and writing in it, yes. I think I am most excited about journaling this year and comparing how my answers change or stay the same because that is what it is about. I want to see how my answers evolve, but also I feel this is also a part of my diary because it is a journey of how far I have come. One of the first questions of this journal is what is your mission, which I kind of treated like a yearly resolution of what I want to achieve and I feel like if I put a percentage on it I have achieved a modest 65% of it which I am really proud of. But already looking back it makes me nostalgic to think of what my goals were and what I have and haven’t achieved. It also is a reminder of where I once was and where I am now. I am just a sucker for nostalgia and romanticise everything let me have these moments. There is a quote on the front book from Andy Warhol (high school art students remember him) that says ‘they always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.’ I feel very apt, so I am excited, nervous, anxious, and ready for the new year and all the adventures-high, and low, it brings, I am ready to start another year in my journal, another year to grow, to make mistakes, to learn, to meet new people, finish year (by passing insha’Allah) starting a career. Reading so many books, binging and streaming series, listening to podcasts and audiobooks and so, so many more things. I would highly recommend this to anyone thinking to start out in journaling or even those who journal already because the prompts are really good.


I will of course keep you all updated with my 2nd year of journaling throughout next year, but for now, that is my year 1 of journaling complete. Looking forward to year 2 of 5. Stay with me as I keep turning the pages! Comment below if you journal and/or any tips you have.


With love and Dua’s

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page