top of page
  • fizrabibi

Happy Summer

Happy summer solstice!


If you didn’t know already summer is my favourite season because who wouldn’t like those blue skies the sun making your face glow and those endless days because of the daylight late sunsets, carefree fun, lazy afternoons- no I am not describing a scene out of The Great Gatsby I am talking about summer! I just love summer as I know for a fact (and someone can fight me for this) that waking up to the sun blinding you does not automatically lift your mood. Like Autumn and Winter are for the vibes, aesthetic, cardies and throws and hot chocolate, Spring and Summer-cliché- but it’s a time for renewal, for change for letting go and moving on.


Summer is the smell of freshly cut grass- my mom and her lawn-mower is a serious business, Summer is ice lollies and barbeques, summer is reading under the blue sky- my favourite thing to do in the summer (and it is great that I have a lot of books to keep me company check-in for upcoming posts/review) a time for summer mocktails and weddings- a lot of weddings. Already been to one on Sunday with two this weekend you gotta love a big fat Asian wedding. It is a time for the flower beds to blossom- again Mom and her flowers- serious business. A time for picnics and get-togethers with friends and family. A time to switch off from life and re-connect with nature, family, Netflix (the amount I have binged is not healthy) a time to bring out the dresses and sandals and wedges. It is a time to remember your sunscreen with a high SPF but also mosquito protection- every summer somehow I always get bitten on my ankle/foot that blows up swollen which kills- but there is this yellow cream with a bee on that works wonders- can’t remember the name but will have a look and edit it in.


Summer makes me happy; Summer makes me whole again. Optimism clings to you and allows you to breathe I just live for the summer days my favourites being lying there with my sunglasses on getting so consumed in the beauty of the endless skies counting how many planes have gone past-I promise you, I do have a life- but also getting consumed and devouring a book- there is nothing like a summer book that will end up being a favourite because you will remember those the most. And of course, Wimbledon, how could I forget. A British summer is not complete without strawberries and Wimbledon, summer and Wimbledon go hand in hand I really got into the sport a few years back and I absolutely love it, on my bucket list to attend in person but I just love Wimbledon. I can’t wait for the summer ahead, what are you guys looking forward to, and comment below on what your favourite season is and why?

Happy summer everyone.

With Salaams and Dua’s,

Fiz @Every Page She Turns.


“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

– F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby


“One summer morning at sunrise a long time ago I met a little girl with a book under her arm. I asked her why she was out so early and she answered that there were too many books and far too little time. And there she was absolutely right.”

– Tove Jansson


“Summer’s lease hath all too short a date.”

– William Shakespeare, The Sonnets

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page